The Billings Outpost

Van Dyk named Volunteer of Year

Jane Van Dyk, a member of the Billings Symphony Orchestra and Chorale Board of Directors, has been named the Montana Association of Symphony Orchestras Volunteer of the Year.

Ms. Van Dyk has been involved with the organization for many years, a news release said. She first joined the BSO&C Board of Directors in 1985. She served as board president for two terms in 1995-96 and 1996-97 and has chaired many of the board committees over the years, such as the nominating and finance committees.

“I feel so honored and humbled by this recognition from MASO. Music - live, symphonic music especially - has always been my first love. None of the work I’ve done for orchestras ever seemed like work. It’s always been a labor of love,” said Van Dyk.

As a longtime member of the Volunteer Council of the League of American Orchestras, including serving as President in 2009-10, Van Dyk has a broad understanding of the orchestra community. She served for five years on the Board of Directors, including a year as president of the Yellowstone Chamber Players, a Billings-based chamber music organization.

“Jane is one of the hardest-working members of our board. She helped contact renewing and prospective donors for our musician sponsorship program, and with her help we set a new fundraising record. She was also instrumental in the planning and coordination of our successful New Year’s Eve Bash fundraiser. Jane is passionate about the BSO&C’s mission, she has broad experiences that allow her to contribute to our planning, and she generously contributes her time and is willing to get involved in any way possible. A volunteer like Jane is invaluable and she deserves this recognition,” said BSO&C Executive Director Darren Rich.

Each year, at a performance, a MASO board officer presents a plaque to the winner so the orchestra members and audience may also recognize their volunteer’s accomplishments. This year MASO Board President David Hummel, also of the Billings Symphony, will serve that honor. Hummel will present the award to Van Dyk during the BSO&C’s season finale performance of “Carmina Burana” on Saturday, April 26 at 7:30 p.m. at the Alberta Bair Theater.

MASO started the Volunteer of the Year Award in 1994 to recognize the outstanding contributions made by volunteers to enrich the symphonies and lives of the people of Montana. The first award went to Larry Nitz of the Billings Symphony.

Other Billings Symphony awardees included Donald Bjertness in 2003 and Lynn Marquardt in 2012. MASO has recognized a total of 20 volunteers, with six different symphony orchestras.

Copyright 2012 Wild Raspberry Inc.

Top Desktop version