The Billings Outpost

Lostroh leads at PBR


Riding Badger Milk for 89 points on Friday, 2009 PBR World Champion Kody Lostroh is the leader after Round 1 of the Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series Stanley Tools and Security Invitational presented by The Nile.

Round 2 will be at 7 p.m. on Saturday at the Rimrock Auto Arena at MetraPark. Tickets begin at $10 and are available at the MetraPark box office,, and by telephone at (406) 256-2422 or (800) 366-8538. Tickets can also be purchased at the Rimrock Mall customer service counter, and at Cellular Plus stores.

Caleb Sanderson and Fabiano Vieira are tied for second with 86.25 points, followed by Chase Outlaw in fourth place with 85.75 points, and Emilio Resende with 85.5 points.

It is the record 17th year in a row that Billings has hosted the BFTS, which is the most appearances and consecutive appearances of the PBR in any city.

In addition to prize money, the winner of the Stanley® Tools & Security Invitational will receive $2,500 in Stanley® FatMax® tools, and a $1,000 Kwikset Home Security Makeover. If the rider who selects the bull Stanley FatMax in the Built Ford Tough Championship Round on Sunday makes a qualified ride, he will receive $2,500 in Stanley® FatMax® tools. If the rider fails to reach 8 seconds, the $2,500 in Stanley® FatMax® will be presented to Stanley® FatMax® owner Jeff Robinson, the reigning PBR Stock Contractor of the Year.

Competing for more than $140,000 in total prize money, each of the Top 35 riders in the world will ride again on Saturday, and Sunday. Following Round 3 on Sunday, the riders with the 10 highest cumulative scores will advance to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round, where they will each compete with one more bull. The overall event winner will be the rider with the highest combined score from all four regular-format rounds.

Top-ranked Valdiron de Oliveira is not competing in Billings after being stepped on following a second-place ride in Round 3 at Uncasville, Conn., on Sunday. Oliveira will eventually undergo surgery to repair a fracture of his eye socket.

J.B. Mauney is competing for the second week in a row after switching to riding with his right hand down. Mauney broke a bone in his customary left riding hand four weeks ago at Kansas City, Mo. He was unsuccessful in four outs last weekend, and bucked off Stanley-Bostich Hurriquake in Round 1 here.

CBS Sports Network will broadcast action from Round 2 at 10 p.m. ET this Saturday, May 5, with an encore airing at 2 a.m. ET on Sunday, May 6. CBS Sports Network will broadcast action from Round 3 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round at 6 p.m. ET this Sunday, May 6. There will be encore airings Sunday at 9 p.m. ET, and on Monday, May 7, at 9 p.m. ET.

The past four PBR World Champions are competing in Billings, with Silvano Alves (2011), Renato Nunes (2010), Lostroh, and Guilherme Marchi (2008).

The Stanley Tools and Security Invitational is the 17th stop on the BFTS, which opened the 2012 season on Jan. 6-8 with capacity crowds at Madison Square Garden in New York. The BFTS will make 28 stops in 23 states before the Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 24-28, 2012. The World Finals are where the PBR World Champion will be crowned and awarded the coveted Championship Buckle and a $1 million bonus. The richest bull riding event in the world, the World Finals has a total purse of more than $2 million.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network, NBC, NBC Sports Network, and YouTube. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer. 

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Stanley Tools and Security Invitational presented by The Nile
Rimrock Auto Arena at MetraPark in Billings, Montana
Friday’s Results
Event Leaders (Round 1-Total Points)
1. Kody Lostroh, 89-89 points.
2. Caleb Sanderson, 86.25-86.25 points.
Fabiano Vieira, 86.25-86.25 points.
4. Chase Outlaw, 85.75-85.75 points.
5. Emilio Resende, 85.5-85.50 points.
6. Austin Meier, 85.25-85.25 points.
7. Silvano Alves, 84.75-84.75 points.
8. Matt Bohon, 84-84 points.
9. Guilherme Marchi, 81-81 points.
10. Aaron Roy, 80.75-80.75 points.
Marco Eguche, 80.75-80.75 points.
12. Harve Stewart, 80.5-80.50 points.
13. Jarrod Craig, 74-74 points.
14. Ben Jones, 65-65 points.
Billy Robinson, 0-0 points.
Budd Williamson, 0-0 points.
Chad Besplug, 0-0 points.
Clayton Baethge, 0-0 points.
Cody Nance, 0-0 points.
Dusty Ephrom, 0-0 points.
J.B. Mauney, 0-0 points.
Jordan Hupp, 0-0 points.
Justin Koon, 0-0 points.
Kasey Hayes, 0-0 points.
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0 points.
L.J. Jenkins, 0-0 points.
Luke Snyder, 0-0 points.
Markus Mariluch, 0-0 points.
Mike Lee, 0-0 points.
Nathan Schaper, 0-0 points.
Renato Nunes, 0-0 points.
Robson Palermo, 0-0 points.
Ryan McConnel, 0-0 points.
Shane Proctor, 0-0 points.
Stormy Wing, 0-0 points.

Copyright 2012 Wild Raspberry Inc.

Top Desktop version